Chrome notifications

Chrome offers websites the ability to proactively alert you to things. On Windows, these notifications appear in the bottom-right corner of the screen; on Mac, they appear in the top-right corner.

A website must first ask your permission to show notifications, but after you agree, it can do so whenever it likes—even after you quit Chrome or you’re busy working on other things.

You might find it useful to allow notifications from a select few sites. But many websites send too many, or irrelevant notifications. Bogus websites abuse the facility to do things like pretend you’ve got a virus and offer unneeded and potentially harmful ‘help’.

So, while you’re using the web, if a site asks to show notifications, think about whether you really want to agree before doing so.

Stop a site showing notifications

If you’ve already agreed to notifications you no longer want:

  1. Click the menu (three dots, top right)
  2. Click Settings
  3. In the sidebar (left) click Privacy and security
  4. To the right, click Site settings
  5. Scroll down and click Notifications

Under the ‘Allow’ heading are sites you’ve approved. To stop receiving notifications from one of them, click its menu to the right (three dots) and choose Remove.

In removing a site, you’re not cutting ties with the company—you’re just saying you don’t want them to proactively contact you in this way.